7 chakra symbols and meaning - Beginners Guide

Oct 21 , 2021


Umi Soul

Chakra (in Sanskrit cakra) means “wheel” or “disc”, these discs correspond to energy points in your body, and it is believed these spinning discs of energy should stay aligned and open to ensure that our emotional and physical body are in a state of balance and well-being.

Each chakra corresponds to bundles of nerves and major organs and affect the energy fields around these areas.

There are seven main chakras that run along your spine, each of these chakras have a corresponding number, name and color and run along the spinal column from the crown of the head to the base of the spine.

7 chakras and meaning

1.Root Chakra (Mulhadhara)

This chakra represents the foundation of our body and gives the feeling of being grounded.

  • Location: The location of the root chakra is at the base of the spine in the tailbone
  • Control: The root chakra controls the physical identity, stability and grounding.
  • Mantra: The associated mantra is lam
  • Color: Red is the color associated with the root chakra
  • Element: Earth
  • Stone: Red and dark brown stones are associated with the root chakra
  • Yoga pose: The Tree pose, and warrior pose are beneficial for the root Chakra and practicing these poses will assist this chakra


When to unblock: A blocked root chakra can manifest as physical issues such as constipation, arthritis, bladder, or colon problems. Emotionally an unbalanced root chakra affects well-being, insecurity about finances and basic needs.

Once the root chakra is in alignment and open, a feeling of being grounded and secure, both physically and emotionally will prevail.


2.Sacral Chakra (Svadhistana)

The sacral chakra is related to sensuality, sexuality, and pleasure.

  • Location: The location of the sacral chakra is below the belly button and above the pubic bone.
  • Control: The sacral chakra controls sexuality, pleasure, and creativity
  • Mantra: Associated mantra is vam
  • Color: Orange is the color of the sacral chakra
  • Element: Water is the element of the sacral chakra
  • Stone: Orange stones pertain to this chakra
  • Yoga pose: The child’s pose and the Cobra connect the sacral chakra


When to unblock: When the sacral chakra is blocked urinary tract infections, lower back pain and impotency can manifest physically. Emotionally the sacral chakra is connected to feelings of self-worth especially in the areas of sexuality, pleasure, and creativity.


3.Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The solar plexus chakra relates specifically to our personal power in this world.

  • Location: The solar plexus chakra is found in the upper abdomen in the stomach region
  • Control: This chakra controls confidence and self esteem
  • Mantra: The associated mantra is ram
  • Color: The color associated with the solar plexus chakra is yellow
  • Element: Fire is the element that relates to the solar plexus chakra
  • Stone: Yellow coloured stones are associated with this chakra
  • Yoga pose: The warrior pose, and the downward dog are poses for the solar plexus chakra


When to unblock: Blockages in the solar plexus chakra physically manifest in the digestive system with eating disorders, heartburn, ulcers, and indigestion. The solar plexus chakra is the seat of our personal power and affects our self-esteem and confidence.


4.Heart Chakra (Anhata)

The heart chakra naturally relates to love and compassion.

  • Location: The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest, just above the heart.
  • Control: The heart chakra controls feelings of love and compassion.
  • Mantra: Associated mantra is yam
  • Color: Green is the color associated with the heart chakra
  • Element: Air
  • Stone: Pink and green stones are the stones for the heart chakra
  • Yoga pose: The cobra pose, and the fish pose are beneficial for the heart chakra


When to unblock: Physical manifestations of blockages in the heart chakra is through heart problems, weight issues and asthma.People with heart chakra blockages tend to place others first and neglect themselves. The heart chakra is the middle of the seven chakras and represents our ability to love and connect to people.

When the heart chakra is out of alignment it creates feelings of isolation, insecurity, and loneliness.

5.Throat Chakra (Vishuddah)

The throat chakra is the centre of communication to the world.

  • Location: This chakra is located in the throat
  • Control: the throat chakra is in control of your verbal communication or voice to other people
  • Mantra: The mantra for the throat chakra is ham
  • Color: Blue is the color associated with the throat chakra
  • Element: Wind
  • Stone: Blue stones are associated with the throat chakra
  • Yoga pose: The plow pose, and the fish pose are poses that bring benefit to the throat chakra


When to unblock: The throat chakra is the ability to communicate verbally. Blockages is this chakra including the mouth, teeth and gums are affected. If the throat chakra is not in alignment it can result in gossiping, speaking without thinking and having trouble expressing what you want. When this chakra is aligned your speech ill be confident and compassionate because you are reflecting your true nature in words.


6.Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third eye chakra is associated with intuition, awareness, and insight.

  • Location: This chakra is located in the centre of the forehead
  • Control: The third eye chakra controls awareness, insight, and intuition.
  • Mantra: Associated mantras are Sham, Aum or Om
  • Color: The color of the third eye chakra is indigo
  • Element: Light and inner sound are the elements for the third eye
  • Stone: Purple and Indigo stones are associated with this chakra
  • Yoga pose: The downward facing dog and the child’s pose will bring benefit to the third eye chakra


When to unblock: The third eye chakra is physically located in the head and blockages manifest physically as headaches, problems with concentration sight or hearing. People who have a know-it-all attitude and are not in touch with their intuition must have their third eye chakra aligned.


7.Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The crown chakra is seen as the center of enlightenment.

  • Location: The crown chakra is located at the very top of the head
  • Control: This chakra is the center of awareness and intelligence
  • Mantra: Associated mantras are Soham, Am or Om
  • Color: white or violet is associated with the crown chakra
  • Element: Space
  • Stone: White, gold, or violet stones represent this chakra
  • Yoga pose: the tree pose, and the half lotus pose will be beneficial for the crown chakra


When to unblock: The crown chakra is linked to all the other chakras and affect the organs in all the areas and includes the brain and central nervous system. Emotionally people with a blocked crown chakra seem narrow-minded, stubborn, and skeptical. When this chakra is open it allows all the other chakras to be open and creates a feeling of enlightenment.

When aligning your chakras, it may be beneficial to meditate on the chakras for increased health of your energy system.

Start by breathing energy into your chakras, starting at the base, see the colors as vividly as you can, and visualize your beautiful energy centers spinning in a healthy way, filling your body with health, wisdom, and light.

Bringing your chakras into alignment is the best way to unblock passages in the energy system of the body and helping your body to function optimally in all areas of your life.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published